How to turn photo geotagging on or off on your iPhone or iPad

When you launch the Camera app on your iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad for the first time it'll ask you if it can use your location. That uses Wi-Fi router mapping, and, if available, cell-tower triangulation and GPS to determine where you are and record that information along with the photo. In other words — geotagging. It's great if you want to keep track of where you took your pictures, like on a photo walk or a vacation, but if you want to protect your privacy and keep your location undisclosed, it's not so good. Luckily, even if you allowed location the first time, you can change your mind at any time.

How to enable or disable GPS location tagging on your iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Settings app from your iPhone or iPad Home screen.
  2. Tap on Privacy.
  3. Tap on Location Services.
  4. Tap on Camera.
  5. Choose either While Using the App or Never.

You can change your mind as often as you like, turning geotagging on when you want to use it, off when you don't.

How to get more help with Camera for iPhone and iPad

Note: Originally published December 2010. Updated December 2013.