How to revoke access to Facebook third party apps on iPhone and iPad

How to revoke access to Facebook third party apps on iPhone and iPad

Facebook has a lot of third partys app out there and all of us are guilty of allowing quite a few of them have access to our profiles and other personal information. Whether that be games, social apps, or any other kind of service that may access your Facebook. That's why it's a good idea to go through what apps can access your Facebook information and remove the ones that don't need it anymore.

You can actually do it all right from your iPhone and iPad. Follow along and we'll show you how.

  1. Launch the Facebook app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on the menu icon in the upper left hand corner.
  3. Scroll down and tap on Privacy Settings.
  4. In this menu, tap on Apps.
  5. Here you'll see a running list of every app you've given access to some part of your Facebook information at some point or another.
  6. Tap on the app you'd like to revoke access from.
  7. Scroll down all the way to the bottom and tap on Remove (app name).

That app's ability to access your Facebook information will then be revoked. This is good practice for those who have a tendency to use large amounts of social apps or play a lot of games. For privacy reasons, we only recommend granting access to your Facebook account to apps you actively use and trust.

Have something to say about this story? Share your comments below! Need help with something else? Submit your question!

Allyson Kazmucha

Senior editor for iMore. I can take apart an iPhone in less than 6 minutes. I also like coffee and Harry Potter more than anyone really should.

More Posts

 

11
loading...
0
loading...
50
loading...
0
loading...

← Previously

Spiderweb RPG game developer celebrates 20 years with Mac Humble Bundle deal

Next up →

Facebook improves iPad support, fixes News Feed problem, supports verified accounts

Reader comments

How to revoke access to Facebook third party apps on iPhone and iPad

12 Comments

Ok so how do you get back without hitting the back button (the only button) 90 times ?

Sent from the iMore App

Shocking how many apps had access and some were just shocking at how much they requested. AP Mobile (but I'm sure there were others) requested EVERYTHING about me.

This is what Facebook says. How do I turn off apps and websights? Tap the left menu, Scroll down and tap settings & Privacy Apps, Tap Platform, Off
Note: You may lose information about apps ex. high scores, favorite places. This information can't be recovered. This does not say a lot, but If you use a trusted app, I am guessing platform needs to be on?

I found an easier solution: Remove the Facebook app entirely. I just go through a web browser to use it, so when I'm done, close out, FB is gone.