Daily Tip: How to remove your friends' contact information from Facebook

If you've synced your contacts with Facebook for iPhone, it's possible that all the information from your iPhone Contacts.app are now copied over to Facebook's servers. While that means you get Facebook profile pics when your Facebook using friends call you, it also may mean Facebook now has the personal numbers of your non-Facebook using friends, and that may not be okay with them, or with you. Luckily there's a way to take back what's yours (and theirs). Instructions after the break.

[BGR]

  1. Visit facebook.com from a PC and log in
  2. in the top-right corner of the screen, click on Account and then Edit Friends
  3. In the menu on the left side of the screen, click on Contacts
  4. Here, you will see that each and every one of your contacts in Address Book are listed along with their phone numbers… wipe the look of shock and disgust from your face
  5. On the right side of the screen, click on the “this page” link
  6. Follow the instructions on this page — you’ll have to disable contact-sync in Facebook’s mobile app if it’s enabled — and click the Remove button

I don't buy the shock and disgust part -- at some point you hit the sync button, after all -- but it is disturbing how quickly and opaquely big online companies can suck in other people's personal info. And if you know any other cases of Facebook, or any social network, holding information you'd rather they not hold, let us know and tell us how to remove it!

Tips of the day will range from beginner-level 101 to advanced-level ninjary. If you already know this tip, keep the link handy as a quick way to help a friend. If you have a tip of your own you'd like to suggest, add them to the comments or send them in to dailytips@tipb.com. (If it's especially awesome and previously unknown to us, we'll even give ya a reward...)