The Dev-Team will be releasing the official tools for an untethered iOS 4.3.1 jailbreak tonight. Both Redsn0w and PwnageTool will be available within the next 24 hours and will support all iOS devices including the iPhone 4 and latest generation iPod touch, but will not yet be compatible with the iPad 2.

Over the weekend the Dev-Team let the world know that if #sundayisfunday started trending on Twitter they'd release an untethered jailbreak shortly after. It has since been confirmed that they're planning to release the official tools at GMT-8, which should translate for us in the US and Canada to the following times:

  • 12AM Pacific
  • 1AM Mountain
  • 2AM Central
  • 3AM Eastern

It's been a long time coming, but it looks like we'll finally be able to jailbreak iOS 4.3.1 without needing to tether to a PC or Mac each time a reboot is required. We're not sure when a jailbreak will be out for the iPad 2, but we've heard rumblings of something in the works from Comex. The Dev-Team may hold out on an iPad 2 jailbreak to make sure Apple doesn't patch hardware vulnerabilities with the iPhone 5, but with rumors that we won't see the iPhone 5 in June this year they may end up releasing a tool sooner rather than later.

Will you be jailbreaking after Redsn0w and PwnageTool are released tonight? Let us know in the comments!

[iphonedownloadblog]