Amazon Prime

If you have always wanted to be an Amazon Prime member, but balked at the service's up-front $99 fee for an annual membership, you might want to have Friday, September 25 set up on your calendar. That's when Amazon will cut the price for joining the service down to just $67 a year if you sign up between 12 a.m. Eastern time (9:00 p.m. Pacific time on September 24) and 11:59 p.m. Pacific time (2:59 a.m Eastern time on September 26).

Amazon had a similar one-day discount on Amazon Prime in January, cutting it down to just $72 a year. Friday's one-day sale to $67 is the lowest price yet for a regular subscription.

The one-day price cut is Amazon's way of celebrating the many Emmy Awards that were given to the acclaimed Amazon Instant Video exclusive TV series 'Transparent' a few days ago. They included an award for actor Jeffrey Tambor for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series. Transparent's creator Jill Soloway also won for Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series and actor Bradley Whitford also won for Best Guest Actor in a Comedy Series. The first season of Transparent is available to stream now for Amazon Prime subscribers, and season two will premiere on December 4.

In addition to Prime Instant Video, the subscription to Amazon Prime offers users a catalog of one million songs on Prime Music, free two-day shipping on a ton of products sold on the site, and free unlimited photo storage with Prime Photos.

Technically, this special discount is only valid for new members, but if you are already signed up you can still buy a gift subscription and email it to yourself. Then you have to cancel auto-renew on your existing Prime membership and wait for it to expire, so you can then use the $67 gift code for another year of Amazon Prime

Source: Amazon