Facebook allows you to not only have friends that can see all of what's posted on your timeline, but lets you subscribe to others that may not be your friends. Only public posts will be viewable to those people.
If you prefer not to have public subscribers and followers on Facebook or want to customize whether or not they can comment on your public posts, you can do so easily with Facebook for both iPhone and iPad. Here's how:
That's all there is to it. Just disable followers if you don't want people that aren't your friends being able to access your content in their timeline. If you're okay with that but just don't want them to be able to comment on any of it, just edit those settings instead.