Privacy Tips

How to stop Facebook from constantly tracking and recording your location

Use Nearby Friends? If you don't want Facebook for iPhone tracking your every move, you're going to want to change your settings.

I like using Facebook to share what I want, when I want, and it's fair game. But many of us don't fancy a social network tracking our every move, even privately. If you use Facebook's Nearby Friends feature, however, you may be at risk of just that. If you'd prefer not to have a personal map of every place you've been accessible via your Facebook account, here's how to change your settings and put the social network back in its place.

More →

20
78
117
0

How to change what iPhone or iPad is used to share your location

If you use location sharing with family and friends, you'll want to make sure iOS is sharing from the right device.

There are lots of reasons you may want to share your location through the Messages app or Find My Friends. For example, sharing a location is a lot faster than manually typing out a location to someone. If you have more than one iOS device, maybe an iPhone and an iPad for example, you may want to change which one is used for default location sharing.

More →

2
7
44
0

How to disable quick reply messaging on the Lock screen of your iPhone or iPad

Quick reply messaging from your Lock screen may be convenient, but it isn't secure.

With interactive notifications you can swipe left across any iMessage on the Lock screen and quickly send off a reply, no passcode, password, or Touch ID required. That's great if you're always in a rush and just need to answer everything and anything as fast as possible. It's not so great if you often leave your iPhone or iPad unattended, where other people can potentially reply to your messages either as a prank or maliciously. Interactive notifications are enabled by default, but if you'd rather have security than convenience, you can easily turn them off.

More →

8
10
41
0

How to filter spam messages in Facebook for iPhone and iPad

If you use Facebook for iPhone and iPad on a regular basis in conjunction with the Facebook Messenger app, you are probably already familiar with the amount of spam messages you can receive. Just like email, Facebook has become a great place for advertisers and marketers to troll. However, Facebook does have a setting that lets you take a little more control over what messages end up in your inbox. Here's how to access it!

More →

16
18
64
0

How to only allow apps to see your location while you're using them in iOS 8

Prior to iOS 8, you only had two options when it came to sharing your location with App Store apps, share or don't share. That meant if you wanted an app to use your location while you were actively using it, but never in the background, you couldn't have both without changing settings. Now, you can have the best of both worlds by just changing a few settings.

More →

9
37
55
0

How to restrict who can follow your Facebook posts with Facebook for iOS

Facebook offers a following feature that by default lets anyone follow your posts. For most of us, this may only apply to public posts. However, some folks still don't like this behavior and prefer that only friends can follow and filter posts into their News Feed. If you don't want people you don't know to have the ability to follow you, you can quickly remedy the problem with Facebook for iPhone and iPad.

More →

7
14
42
0

How to lock attention to a specific app with Guided Access for iPhone and iPad

Guide access is an Accessibility feature that lets you lock the iPhone or iPad to a single app. For as long as guided access is enabled, only that one specific app can be used, and there's no way to exit it for the Home screen or any other app. Guided Access can be extremely useful in education settings, to help kids focus for learning math, language, and other skills, and for working with people on the autistic spectrum. Whether it's a writing app, drawing app, music app, math app, or a story, video, or reading app, guided access helps make sure that all attention remains on that app.

Note: Guided access can also be used by kiosks, restaurants, store, and other businesses to create a dedicated information or transaction device, and it can even be used to create a "guest mode" so you can hand your device to someone and let them use Safari, iBooks, Video, or a game without having to worry about them snooping through your personal information.

More →

17
266
63
0

How to disable Notification Center on the Lock screen of your iPhone and iPad

Notification Center collects all of the notifications your receive on your iPhone or iPad into one easy-to-access place. By default you can even pull down Notification Center from your Lock screen to see any messages or other notifications you may have recently missed. If, however, for privacy and security reasons, you prefer Notification Center not be accessible from the Lock screen, there's an easy way to disable it!

More →

7
24
57
0

How to block FaceTime calls and iMessages on the Mac

If you're being stalked, spammed, pranked, or otherwise abused over iMessage or FaceTime, you can block that contact and prevent them from bothering you ever again, even on your Mac. It's simple, it's easy, and it's oh-so-gratifying. If there's an especially annoying someone you've been waiting to ignore, here's how to do it!

More →

11
25
59
0

How to enable the Guest User account on your Mac

There are lots of reasons to use the Guest User feature on your Mac. For most of us that'll be so others don't have unauthorized access to our files and settings. You can limit what they can and can't do fairly easily so you can be sure at all times that no one is doing things on your Mac that they shouldn't. Here's how to turn on the Guest User account:

More →

10
7
36
0

Pages