How to force websites to save passwords to iCloud Keychain in OS X Mavericks

How to force all websites to let you save passwords to iCloud Keychain in OS X Mavericks

Not all websites just let you save passwords to iCloud Keychain. Whether for privacy or security reasons, or simple technical misconfiguration, sometimes your best efforts to stay in sync across your Apple devices will be stymied... at least at first. Luckily, Safari can often let you save passwords even if the website itself tries to stop you. Here's how to do it in OS X Mavericks.

How to force save logins to iCloud Keychain in OS X Mavericks

  1. Launch Safari from the desktop of your Mac running OS X Mavericks.
  2. In the top menu bar, click on Safari and then Preferences.
  3. In the menu, click on Passwords.
  4. Under your list of passwords, check the box for Allow AutoFill even for websites that request passwords not to be saved.

That's it! Safari and iCloud Keychain should now save and fill in logins even for sites that have requested you not store them!

How to get more help with iCloud Keychain

If you have specific questions about iOS 7 or OS X Mavericks in general, check out our iOS 7 help and discussion forum or OS X Mavericks help and discussion forum. For more on Safari in specific, check out our ultimate guide:

Allyson Kazmucha

Editor for iMore, Potter pundit, and the ninja in your iOS

More Posts

 

6
loading...
0
loading...
65
loading...
0
loading...

← Previously

What the BlackBerry CEO really said about bringing the 'BlackBerry experience' to iOS

Next up →

Best shopping and grocery list apps for iPhone: Pushpins, AnyList, and more!

There are 7 comments. Add yours.

NickA says:

Great tip, thanks! I needed this.

thejerryong says:

Great tip, though it requires screen lock. :/

SockRolid says:

And then make sure nobody ever steals your MacBook!

Allyson Kazmucha says:

You have to have screen lock enabled to even use it

asuperstarr says:

Very simple and thanks for the tips!

Sent from the iMore App

Jynitor says:

This option in now gone in 10.9.2