How to control what photos, statuses, and check-ins your friends tag you in with Facebook for iPhone and iPad

How to control what photos, statuses, and check-ins your friends tag you in with Facebook for iPhone and iPad

We've all had those times where our friends and family members upload Facebook photos of us that we preferred they didn't. At that point, your option is really to delete the photo or hide it from your timeline. And what if you don't want your location shared but friends start checking you in places without your knowledge?

If you prefer screening the content people tag you in before it ends up on your Facebook timeline, you can easily do so by changing some account settings. Here's how:

  1. Launch the Facebook app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on the menu icon in the upper left hand corner.
  3. Scroll down and tap on Account Settings in the left hand navigation menu.
  4. Under the top section titled Who can add things to my timeline?, tap on the second option labeled Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline?
  5. SImply turn this option to On.

That's it. You'll now be notified when you get tagged not only in an image, but in a status or check-in and you'll have to approve it. If it's something you don't want your Facebook friends seeing, just dismiss it and it'll never get published to your Facebook timeline.

Do you use privacy settings like these for Facebook to prevent information you don't want shared from ending up on your timeline? How has it worked out for you?

Allyson Kazmucha

Editor for iMore, Potter pundit, and the ninja in your iOS

More Posts

 

3
loading...
27
loading...
38
loading...
0
loading...

← Previously

Transport Tycoon coming to both iOS and Android later this year

Next up →

Spendee for iPhone not only helps you track your finances, but analyze them too!

There is 1 comment. Add yours.

Simon Ogston says:

Am I right in saying that this doesn't stop these posts being shown in friends news feed? This is where most tags in photos, check-ins and status's will be seen first regardless of whether you stop it from being posted on your own personal timeline.