Whatsapp Message HeroSource: Luke Filipowicz / iMore

What you need to know

  • WhatsApp says it no longer plans to delete the accounts of people who don't accept its new privacy policy.
  • It had previously said it would with a deadline of May 15.
  • Instead, it will now provide persistent reminders and users may experience limited account functionality.

WhatsApp has today confirmed that it no longer plans to delete the accounts of users who don't accept its controversial new privacy policy by May 15.

"We've spent the last several months providing more information about our update to users around the world," a WhatsApp spokesperson told iMore, "In that time, the majority of people who have received it have accepted the update and WhatsApp continues to grow. However, for those that have not yet had a chance to do so, their accounts will not be deleted or lose functionality on May 15. We'll continue to provide reminders to those users within WhatsApp in the weeks to come."

WhatsApp has previously reiterated that there are no changes being made to the security of messages with friends and family, nor will it expand WhatsApp's ability to share data with Facebook. WhatsApp says it is enabling new business services including customer service messaging, the discovery of businesses, and new shopping experiences on its platform.

VPN Deals: Lifetime license for $16, monthly plans at $1 & more

WhatsApp had previously indicated users would have their account deleted if they didn't accept the changes, but has now confirmed that is not the case. Going forward, users will see persistent reminders about the privacy policy change, and receive limited account functionality, likely referring to lack of access to the new features enabled by the changes.