How to disable emailing via Google+ with Gmail

Google recently made some changes to Gmail and Google+ that lets anyone that has you on Google+ send you an email, even if they don't know your email address. While some of us may be okay with this, some of us may find it to be an invasion of privacy and quite frankly, a little creepy. Luckily, Google does give you a way to disable it. Here's how:

  1. Launch a web browser and go to You can do this from an iPhone or iPad in Safari or from any computer. If you're doing it from an iPhone or iPad, make sure you aren't using the mobile version of Gmail.
  2. Log in to the Gmail account you use with Google+.
  3. In the upper right hand corner, click on the gear icon and then click on Settings in the dropdown menu.
  4. Under the General tab find the Email via Google+ section. This is where you can change the setting for who can email you via Google+. Change it here to the preference you want and then click Save at the bottom of the Settings page.

That's all there is to it. Even though Google says no one sees your actual email unless you respond, it may just be more of an issue of privacy for many. Do you plan on turning off the feature or does it not bother you? Let us know in the comments!