Curious about how to remove the photos that iCloud stores in your Photo Stream? Maybe you have a few controversial pictures you need to clear out of the stream before letting a friend use your iPhone or iPad?

With iOS 5 and iCloud, Apple introduced Photo Stream to keep your photos synced between devices. By default, photos are automatically deleted after 30 days or after you cross the 1,000 photo threshold, but what if you need to manually remove them? We'll show you how after the jump!

Getting Started

To get started, you'll need to navigate to from the desktop in order to access advanced iCloud preferences. Once you're there, just follow these quick steps to reset Photo Stream and clear out your pictures.

  1. Once you're at on the desktop, click on your name in the upper-right hand corner.
  2. From the Account Settings pane, click on 'Advanced'.
  3. Now, click 'Reset Photo Stream' to begin the process.
  4. Finally, you'll be asked to confirm before iCloud erases all contents in your Photo Stream.

And that's it!

I'd run a quick check on your iPad or Mac to make sure all the photos have been fully removed from the Photo Stream before handing over your iDevice to a friend, but this process should do the trick if you're looking to clear out or reset your Photo Stream contents.

Tips of the day will range from beginner-level 101 to advanced-level ninjary. If you already know this tip, keep the link handy as a quick way to help a friend. If you have a tip of your own you’d like to suggest, add them to the comments or send them in to (If it’s especially awesome and previously unknown to us, we’ll even give ya a reward…)