The Parental Controls feature (also known as Restrictions) lets you manage which features, apps, and content your kids can and can't access on your iPhone or iPad. That includes not only blocking apps from accessing your location, contacts, calendars, reminders, photos, Bluetooth sharing, microphone, Twitter and Facebook accounts, and advertising settings, but also preventing your child from accidentally or intentionally changing those privacy settings. Not only can that keep your data safe, but keep your kids safer as well.

How to stop new apps from having access to data on iPhone and iPad

Note: Before you start you will need to have restrictions enabled.

  1. Launch the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on General.
  3. Tap on Restrictions.

    Launch the Setting app, tap on General, and then tap on Restrictions.

  4. Tap on the type of data you want to restrict. You're options are:

    • Location services
    • Contacts
    • Calendars
    • Reminders
    • Photos
    • Share My Location
    • Bluetooth Sharing
    • Microphone
    • Speech Recognition
    • Twitter
    • Facebook
    • Advertising
    • Media Library
  5. Tap Don't Allow Changes

    Tap the type of data you want to restrict and tap on Don't Allow Changes.

If you want to be able to have new apps access your data, follow these steps again, but tap on Allow Changes.

How to stop specific apps from having access to data on iPhone and iPad

  1. Launch the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on General.
  3. Tap on Restrictions.

    Launch the Setting app, tap on General, and then tap on Restrictions.

  4. Tap on the type of data you want to restrict. You're options are:

    • Location services
    • Contacts
    • Calendars
    • Reminders
    • Photos
    • Share My Location
    • Bluetooth Sharing
    • Microphone
    • Speech Recognition
    • Twitter
    • Facebook
    • Advertising
    • Media Library
  5. Tap on the On/Off switch beside the app you want to restrict. When the switch is gray, that means the app won't be able to access the data anymore.

    Tap the type of data you want to restrict and then tap on the On/Off switch*beside the app you want to restrict.

Questions?

Do you have any other questions about restrictions or privacy settings? Let us know in the comments below!