Skip to main content

What time do iPhone 12 pre-orders start?

Iphone 12 Ceramic Shield
Iphone 12 Ceramic Shield (Image credit: Apple)

iPhone 12 and iPhone 12 Pro pre-orders are just hours away in most countries unless of course, you're after the iPhone 12 Pro Max or iPhone 12 Mini.

Apple announced the iPhone 12 and 12 Pro on Tuesday and confirmed that both would be available in Australia, China, Germany, Japan, the UK, the US, and more than 30 other countries and regions.

Two iPhones will go up for pre-order in most available countries from Friday, October 16. In India, South Korea, and more than a dozen other countries, iPhone 12 is coming October 30, as is the iPhone 12 Pro.

No Mini, no Max

Apple's iPhone 12 mini, the 5.4-inch model, and the iPhone 12 Pro Max, the 6.7-inch model, will not be available to pre-order anywhere until November.

October pre-orders are only available for the two 6.1-inch models of iPhone, the 12, and 12 Pro.

If you're still on the fence about upgrading, why not check out our iPhone 12 vs iPhone 11 piece here.

6.1-inch models

As mentioned, both the iPhone 12 and iPhone 12 Pro (6.1-inch) models will be available to pre-order in the US, UK, and several other places from October 16. Here are all the different times iPhone 12 pre-orders go live on October 16:

  • California: (PT) - 5 am
  • New York (ET) - 8 am
  • UK (BST) - 1 pm
  • France + Germany (CEST) - 2 pm
  • Dubai, UAE - (GST) - 4 pm
  • Shanghai, Singapore, Hong Kong, Perth (Australia) - 8 pm
  • Sydney, Australia - 11 pm
  • New Zealand - 1 am - October 17

The Apple Store has already gone offline in advance of pre-orders, so in the meantime, why not check out our fastest way to preorder iPhone 12 and iPhone 12 Pro guide.

Remember, these pre-order release times only apply to two of the iPhone 12's four models, the iPhone 12, and iPhone 12 Pro. The iPhone 12 mini and iPhone 12 Pro Max will not be made available to pre-order or buy until next month. Happy shopping!

Stephen Warwick
News Editor

Stephen Warwick has written about Apple for five years at iMore and previously elsewhere. He covers all of iMore's latest breaking news regarding all of Apple's products and services, both hardware and software. Stephen has interviewed industry experts in a range of fields including finance, litigation, security, and more. He also specializes in curating and reviewing audio hardware and has experience beyond journalism in sound engineering, production, and design.

Before becoming a writer Stephen studied Ancient History at University and also worked at Apple for more than two years. Stephen is also a host on the iMore show, a weekly podcast recorded live that discusses the latest in breaking Apple news, as well as featuring fun trivia about all things Apple.