Skip to main content

How to create a FaceTime call link in macOS Monterey

16-inch MacBook Pro FaceTime
16-inch MacBook Pro FaceTime (Image credit: Rene Ritchie / iMore)

Many new features and improvements are coming to macOS Monterey, but since virtual meeting spaces have become crucial in our lives, the improvements to FaceTime may be some of the most exciting. If you do many FaceTime calls, macOS Monterey will likely make you feel like your best Mac got even better.

One of the new features is FaceTime call links, which allows you to create links that you can send to people that will let them join in on a FaceTime call just by tapping the link. You can send these links using built-in apps like Messages and Mail, or copy the link and send it just about anywhere. Everyone you want on that call can be included. Creating a FaceTime call link on macOS Monterey is pretty similar to the process on iPhone and iPad with a few key differences. Here's how to create a FaceTime call link on macOS Monterey.

How to create a FaceTime call link in macOS Monterey

Creating a FaceTime call link is a much easier way to invite groups of people to the same call, and you can do so right from the FaceTime app on your Mac. Once you create a link, it should remain active until you choose to delete it.

  1. Launch FaceTime.
  2. Click Create Link.

Creating FaceTime Link In macOS Monterey: Launch faceTime and then click create link. (Image credit: iMore)
  1. Click the sharing method you want to use.
  2. Enter all the sharing details you need for your selected method if needed.
  3. Send the link to whomever you want via your sharing method.

Sending Facetime Link In macOS Monterey: Click the sharing method you want, enter all the deatils you need, and then click send. (Image credit: iMore)

Depending on the sharing method you've selected the process of what information you will need will differ slightly; however, the basic principles remain the same. Choose who you're sending the FaceTime link to and then send it. The people you sent the link to will be able to tap that link whenever to jump into your FaceTime call. They don't even have to do it right away. The link should remain active until you delete it.

How to delete a FaceTime call link on macOS Monterey

As mentioned above, if you don't want a certain FaceTime link to function anymore, you can delete any of the call links you have created. This will deactivate the link for everyone.

  1. Launch FaceTime.
  2. Click the info button beside the link you want to delete. It's the small "i" in the circle.

Deleting A Facetime Link In Macos Monterey: Launc FaceTime and then click the info button beside the link you want to delete. (Image credit: iMore)
  1. Click Delete Link.
  2. Click Delete Link again.

Deleting A Facetime Link In Macos Monterey: click delete link and then click delete link again on the pop-up menu (Image credit: iMore)

Now, anyone you gave that FaceTime link to won't be able to use it to join a call. You'll need to resend a new link if you want those people to join you on FaceTime again.

Luke Filipowicz
Luke Filipowicz

Luke Filipowicz has been a writer at iMore, covering Apple for nearly a decade now. He writes a lot about Apple Watch and iPad but covers the iPhone and Mac as well. He often describes himself as an "Apple user on a budget" and firmly believes that great technology can be affordable if you know where to look. Luke also heads up the iMore Show — a weekly podcast focusing on Apple news, rumors, and products but likes to have some fun along the way. 


Luke knows he spends more time on Twitter than he probably should, so feel free to follow him or give him a shout on social media @LukeFilipowicz.