iOS 10 on iPhone 7

If you have been running a developer or public beta of iOS 13 or iPadOS 13, you should automatically be updated to the public release when it's available. If your iPhone or iPad is still set to continue updating beta versions, but you want to stick with the official version, you can remove your beta profile and go back to being a normal Joe. Here's how.

Before you start

I've mentioned this a lot, but can't stress it enough: Back up your iPhone before doing anything. A few extra minutes to secure your important data is worth the wait; you will regret losing your data if something goes wrong and you don't have a backup.

How to update to official iOS 13 or iPadOS 13 release over the beta directly on your iPhone or iPad

If you're ready to update iOS on your iPhone or iPad, you don't even have to connect to a computer.

  1. Launch the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad
  2. Tap General
  3. Tap Profiles.

    Launch Settings, then tap General, then tap Profile

  4. Tap iOS Beta Software Profile.
  5. Tap Remove Profile.
  6. Enter your passcode if prompted and tap Delete once more.

    Tap iOS 13 beta profile, then tap Remove Profile

  7. Shut off your iPhone or iPad by holding down the On/Off button and using the Slide to power off slider.
  8. Restart your iPhone or iPad by holding down the On/Off button until you see the Apple logo.

Once you've removed the beta profile from your device, you can safely follow the update process as you normally would for an over-the-air-update.

How to download and install iOS on your iPhone

How to update to the official iOS or iPadOS release over the beta via iTunes on your Mac

If you feel more comfortable reverting to the public launch of iOS or iPadOS on your iPhone or iPad by using iTunes on your Mac, it is a little more complex, but still does the trick.

  1. Turn off your iPhone or iPad by holding the On/Off button and using the Slide to power off slider.
  2. Connect your iPhone or iPad to your computer.
  3. While your iPhone or iPad is connected, press and hold the Sleep/Wake and Home buttons at the same time (Side button and volume down on iPhone 7 or later). Do not release the buttons when you see the Apple logo. Keep holding until your iPhone or iPad enters Recovery mode.

    Hold down Sleep/Wake and Home button until you see Recovery mode

  4. Click on Update on your computer when prompted.
  5. Click on Update on your computer again to download and install the non-beta version of iOS.
  6. Click Agree on your computer to agree to the Terms and Conditions.

    Click on Update

If you have an iPhone 8 or later, you can put them into Recovery mode like so.

  1. If iTunes is open on your Mac, close it.
  2. Plug your USB to Lightning cable into your computer.
  3. Plug your USB to Lightning cable into your iPhone.
  4. Open iTunes.
  5. Press and release the Volume Up button and then the Volume Down button. Then, press and hold the Side button until you see the recovery mode screen.

    How to put your iPhone X into recovery mode

Your iPhone or iPad will then download the public version of iOS or iPadOS.

Note: Make sure you select Update and not Restore. Updating will preserve your settings, apps, and data. Restoring will wipe your device (but you have a backup, anyway, right?).

If you're on the iOS 13 beta version

If you've previously installed the profile for the iOS 13 developer or public betas, at some point in the cycle, you'll have noticed that Apple released the iOS 13.1 beta before the release versions of iOS 13.0 were even available to the public. If you updated to those versions and want to be on the official release, you'll need to perform a downgrade from the iOS 13.1 beta version to the 13.0 release version.

While this is certainly doable, the process involves erasing your phone before you perform the downgrade. Because iOS 13.1 is a newer version of the software than what will release to the public, this means that you will lose access to any iPhone backups made with iOS 13.1, at least until September 30, when iOS 13.1 (along with iPadOS 13.1, the first public release) is expected to be released to everyone. If you rely on your iPhone backups, it's probably best to stay on the beta track until September 30.

How to downgrade your iPhone or iPad from a beta version to a release version

If you're planning on getting an iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, or iPhone 11 Pro Max, and want to downgrade ahead of receiving your phone, and you want to restore your new phone from a backup of your current iPhone, then you're kind of out of luck. The new phones will initially ship with iOS 13, and again, you won't have access to a backup made from iOS 13.1.

If you're willing to stick with the iOS 13.1 beta until it's public release, the best course of action will probably be as follows: Setup your iPhone 11 as a new phone temporarily, enroll it into the public beta program, update it when possible, then wipe the phone and restore it from an iOS 13.1 backup. In the past, a version of the beta hasn't been available for the new iPhones right away, coming later on iPhone launch day. If that is the case this year, you may need to wait for a bit before updating your new iPhone to the beta.

Any questions?

Do you have any questions about downloading the public release of iOS from a beta version? Drop them in the comments and we'll answer them for you.

Updated September 2019: Updated for iOS 13 and iPadOS 13.