How to create, edit, and delete Notes on iPhone or iPad

The Notes app on iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad lets you quickly write down your thoughts, draft out your memos, or store any text you want to keep around for any length of time. With it, you can easily create new notes, update or append existing notes, and delete old notes you no longer need. All with just a few taps and swipes.

How to create a new note on iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Notes app from the Home Screen of your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap the Create new note button at the bottom right.
  3. Tap anywhere inside the note to bring up the keyboard and start writing.
  4. Tap the New note button from within an existing note to quickly start another one.

How to edit an existing note on iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Notes app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad
  2. Tap on the note you want to edit.
  3. Tap anywhere inside the note to bring up the keyboard and start updating or appending.

How to move a note to a new folder on iPhone or iPad

If you've created a note, but later realize you want it in a different folder, you can move it.

  1. Launch the Notes app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on the folder that the note you want to move is currently in.

    Selecting the Notes app on iPad

  3. Tap Edit in the upper right of the list of notes, next to the folder's name.
  4. Tap the circle next to the note you want to move to a new folder.

    Selecting Edit to move a note in the Notes app on iPad

  5. Tap Move To... in the bottom left corner of the screen.
  6. Select a folder to move the note to.

    Moving a note to a new folder on iPad

    You can also tap New Folder to create a new folder.

How to delete a note on iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Notes app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Open the note you want to delete.
  3. Tap on the Trash can button.

There's also a gesture shortcut to delete notes faster, right from the list.

  1. Touch the note title at the far right and swipe to the left to reveal the Delete button.
  2. Tap the Delete button.

This sends the note to a "Recently Deleted" folder for 30 days, after which time the note is permanently deleted.

How to recover a recently deleted note

  1. Tap on the Back button from the list view screen to see the list of account folders.
  2. Tap on the Recently Deleted folder under the account you had saved your note in.
  3. Swipe left on the recently deleted note you wish to recover.


  4. Tap Move to move it back to a folder.

  5. Alternatively, tap Delete if you wish to manually finish deleting the note.

Back to the top