Want to try Apple Music but don't want to be charged on September 30? Here's how to turn off the automatic subscription renewal.

Everyone gets three free months of Apple Music, after which point they'll be charged for a subscription. If you'd rather Apple prompt you for a paid subscription after those three months, though, instead of automatically charging you $9.99 or $14.99, here's how to turn it off.

How to turn off Apple Music's automatic subscription renewal

  1. Open Apple Music.
  2. Tap the Account icon in the upper left corner of the app, then tap View Apple ID.
  3. Select Manage under the Subscriptions subheader.

  4. Tap Your Membership above Apple Music Membership.
  5. Turn the slider next to Automatic Renewal to Off.

Just remember: Once you disable Automatic Renewal, you'll have to return to this screen to activate your subscription when your free trial ends in September, or after your three months are up.