What you need to know
- Apple's iOS 16 includes two big changes to the Settings app.
- iOS 16 will allow people to delete old networks from the Settings app.
- People will be able to see and copy the password of the Wi-Fi network they are connected to.
Apple's upcoming iOS 16 update is going to fix two of the biggest annoyances that Wi-Fi users have dealt with for years — you'll be able to see your Wi-Fi network's password as well as delete old networks from your history.
Apple debuted iOS 16 during its WWDC22 opening keynote on Monday and while bigger features like a redesigned Lock Screen understandably stole the show, there's plenty else going on under the hood. With developers now able to install the first beta release, we're learning more and more about the tidbits that Apple didn't announce. Two examples related to the Settings app.
As noted by various people on Twitter, Apple is now allowing people to see their current password for the first time, making it easier for them to give it to other people when the need arises. Apple already offered a way to share your Wi-Fi password but that requires specific Apple hardware and updated software. With this change, people can more easily share passwords with anyone they need to.
The second notable improvement is the ability to remove older Wi-Fi networks from the Settings app entirely. With iOS 15, that wasn't possible and often caused people to have a long list of unused Wi-Fi networks hanging around — from coffee shops to hotels to former workplaces. Those with Macs could remove the networks there and hope iCloud would sync the changes, but that was less than ideal for all kinds of reasons. With iOS 16, none of that is needed.
Apple's iOS 16 update was announced alongside iPadOS 16, macOS Ventura, watchOS 9, and tvOS 16. All updates are available to developers now, while a public beta program is expected to kick off next month. Those waiting for the final, stable release will need to wait until this fall to take the new updates for a spin.
Get the best of iMore in in your inbox, every day!
Oliver Haslam has written about Apple and the wider technology business for more than a decade with bylines on How-To Geek, PC Mag, iDownloadBlog, and many more. He has also been published in print for Macworld, including cover stories. At iMore, Oliver is involved in daily news coverage and, not being short of opinions, has been known to 'explain' those thoughts in more detail, too.
Having grown up using PCs and spending far too much money on graphics card and flashy RAM, Oliver switched to the Mac with a G5 iMac and hasn't looked back. Since then he's seen the growth of the smartphone world, backed by iPhone, and new product categories come and go. Current expertise includes iOS, macOS, streaming services, and pretty much anything that has a battery or plugs into a wall. Oliver also covers mobile gaming for iMore, with Apple Arcade a particular focus. He's been gaming since the Atari 2600 days and still struggles to comprehend the fact he can play console quality titles on his pocket computer.
How is this good? I share my network all the time using the share feature or I plug the password in myself into a guest’s phone. My kids don’t even know the passsword. Now, anyone I share the network with can look into their settings and see my password? That seems like a serious security flaw. I don’t see this as an improvement at all!
I agree. The password is obfuscated in the settings for a reason. It should stay hidden.
since when have you not been able to delete old wifi networks in settings. I have been able to for as long as I can remember and I just checked I still can.
Thank you for signing up to iMore. You will receive a verification email shortly.
There was a problem. Please refresh the page and try again.