How to view and delete old iPhone backups in iCloudSource: iMore

Storing backups in iCloud is a fantastic idea in case your iPhone, iPad, or Mac ever gets reset for any reason. You don't want to lose any important files, photos, or app data, but every backup does take space. If you back up your devices a lot, you could find yourself running out of space in your iCloud storage — especially if you just have the 5GB Apple gives you. The good news is that you can delete old backups, so you don't have unnecessary and old data hanging around clogging up your storage box.

What is an iCloud backup?

iCloud automatically backs up all of the data on your iPhone or iPad every day, so long as the device is connected to Wi-Fi, turned on, locked, and connected to a power source. This makes it easy to restore a device if you need to wipe it or set up a brand new iPhone or iPad with your existing data.

Get an iPhone SE with Mint Mobile service for $30/mo

Here's what gets backed up to iCloud:

  • iTunes purchase history
  • Photos and videos (unless you have iCloud Photo Library enabled)
  • Device settings
  • App data
  • Home screen and app ogranization
  • iMessage, text messages, MMS messages (if restoring, the SIM card used during back up is required)
  • Ringtones
  • Visual Voicemail password (if restoring, the SIM card used during back up is required)
  • Health data
  • HomeKit configuration

It can end up being quite a lot of data, which can take up a good chunk of your iCloud storage.

Why it's good to keep your iCloud backups

Holding onto your iCloud backups means you get to take your data virtually anywhere, with the ability to access and restore your iPhone or iPad's data from just about anywhere as well. It's particularly handy for folks with multiple devices, especially those who rely on Accessibility settings, since you don't have to manually set everything up again.

Why it's OK to delete iCloud backups

The moment someone recommends deleting a backup, you might look at them in shock and wonder how they even dressed themselves this morning. Relax, Jack. It's OK to delete an iCloud backup because you have your device backed up on your Mac or Windows computer, right? Riiiight???

Get an iTunes backup of your iPhone or iPad going, then you have a backup of your backup, just in case. And don't forget, if you turn iCloud backup on again, your device will still be backed up when you're connected to Wi-Fi, the device is locked, turned on, and connected to power.

How to delete iCloud backups on your iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on your Apple ID right at the top. It should be the name you used to sign up for an Apple ID.
  3. Tap on iCloud.
  4. Tap Manage Storage under iCloud.

    Tap your Apple ID, tap iCloud, tap Manage StorageSource: iMore

  5. Tap Backup.
  6. Tap the device whose backup you want to delete.

    Tap Backup, tap the device whose backup you want to deleteSource: iMore

  7. Tap Delete Backup at the bottom.
  8. Tap Turn Off & Delete.

    Tap Delete Backup, tap Turn Off & DeleteSource: iMore

How to delete iCloud backups on your Mac

  1. Launch System Preferences from the dock, your Finder, or by clicking the Apple icon on the top left of your screen.
  2. Click your Apple ID and sign in if prompted.
  3. Click Manage... in the bottom right corner of the window.

    Click on your Apple ID and then click on ManageSource: iMore

  4. Click Backups in the menu on the left.
  5. Click the backup you want to delete.

    Click on Backups and then select the backup you want to deleteSource: iMore

  6. Click the remove icon on the bottom left the pane. It looks like a minus icon.
  7. Click Delete in the pop-up.
  8. Click Done or repeat steps 5 to 7 to delete another backup.

    Click the Remove icon, then click Delete to delete the backupSource: iMore

Questions?

Let us know in the comments below.

Updated March 2020: Updated for newest versions of iOS 13 and macOS Catalina.

Backing up: The ultimate guide

Main

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.