How to share or make iCloud calendars public on iPhone and iPad

How to share or make iCloud calendars public on iPhone and iPad

If you use Apple's free iCloud service, and you've added calendars to better organize your events, you may want to make one public or share it completely. For example, if you manage a club or league, and want other members to be able to view it as well, but not edit it like they could a shared calendar, a public calendar is the way to go. If you're planning a trip or maintaining a work schedule, and want other people to be able to not only view, but add and edit events, then a shared calendar is the way to go.

How to make an iCloud calendar public on your iPhone or iPad

  1. Launch the Calendar app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on the Calendars button on the bottom navigation.
  3. Tap on the Info button to the right of the calendar that you'd like to make public.
  4. Scroll down and turn On the option for Public Calendar.
  5. Tap on Share Link... to share the calendar with others.

That calendar will now be shared publicly on Apple's calendar site. Anyone and everyone who knows where to look will be able to see it, but not edit it. If at any time you decide you don't want to share that calendar any longer, repeat the same as above, just turn the public calendar option to off.

How to share an iCloud calendar on your iPhone and iPad

  1. Launch the Calendar app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on the Calendars button in the bottom navigation.
  3. Tap on the Info button next to the calendar you'd like to share.
  4. Tap on the Add Person... option under the Shared With section.
  5. Add the people you'd like to share the calendar with and tap Add.
  6. Tap Done in the upper right hand corner.

The calendar will now be shared with everyone who's iCloud account you've added. They'll simply receive a calendar notification asking them to accept your invite. Once they do they'll be able to view events and edit them. Remember, calendar sharing currently only works with iCloud calendars. Both you, and the person you want to share the calendar with, have to be using iCloud.

Allyson Kazmucha

Editor for iMore, Potter pundit, and the ninja in your iOS

More Posts

 

20
loading...
0
loading...
123
loading...
0
loading...

← Previously

WWDC 2014 swag bag includes App Store gift card and conference jacket

Next up →

WWDC Flashback 2013: iOS 7, Mavericks, new Mac Pro and more

There are 8 comments. Add yours.

SockRolid says:

Thanks for the tip Ally!

Actually, I've been invited to innumerable calendars by total strangers. I'm starting to wonder whether it's a tactic by spammers to determine which Apple IDs are "live." Actively declining an invitation tells them that your account is real. :-(

Dev from tipb says:

You may wish to explicitly add that this tip is for Apple/iCould calendars only, and would not apply to calendars from other account types.

dlevi518 says:

If someone shares you to their calendar and you accept it, are they notified if you delete it? Or will they know if you still have it? Like if they thought you deleted it, but you actually didn't would they know?

Mateus C says:

They'll know if it isn't a public calendar. For example if they invite your ID and not everyone, they'll know if you delete it or anything. If it is a public calendar, it has a link that anyone can get the calendar, they won't know. Sorry for the bad English. 8)

Sent from the iMore App

Mateus C says:

They'll know if it isn't a public calendar. For example if they invite your ID and not everyone, they'll know if you delete it or anything. If it is a public calendar, it has a link that anyone can get the calendar, they won't know. Sorry for the bad English. 8)

Sent from the iMore App

tpshimmons says:

This works wonderfully IF the other person has an Apple device! For this of us that live in a PC centric work environment we have to rely on some other method like using Google Cals to create a calendar that can be shared.

Rowanova says:

Is it not possible for the other parties to go to icloud.com to view a shared calendar even if they don't have an Apple device?

Sent from the iMore App

Dev from tipb says:

If it is only available at one website, than that "shared" calendar is not available within that person's calendaring tools, which makes it all but useless to that person in terms of managing a schedule and avoiding conflicts.