Siri will only be available on the new Apple TV in eight countries at launch

Siri is a major feature of the new Apple TV, but not everyone will be able to take full advantage of the personal assistant at launch. According to the Apple TV developer website, Siri will only be available on Apple TV in eight countries initially – Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Japan, Spain, the UK and US.

Should you reside outside of the aforementioned regions, hitting the microphone button on the new controller will not fire up Siri, and will instead launch the on-screen search app. While this isn't a definitive answer on Siri availability for the Apple TV, it does at least paint the picture of who will be able to use Siri as the product launches.

Source: Apple, via: TechRadar

Rich Edmonds